Thursday 9th September 3.00pm & 7.30pm (approx 80mins)

The Festival Academy Orchestra

Thomas Hull conductor
Paul Lewis piano

Should the need arise for the orchestra to observe
social distancing, this would mean a much
reduced ensemble which would necessitate a
complete change of repertoire. If we have to
go down this route we will inform you of the
amended programme.



Piano concerto No.1 in D minor Op.15



Symphony No.5 in C minor Op.67

For the second CCFAO concert of the week Paul Lewis plays the Brahms first concerto. A mix of fiery passion in the outer movements combined with the most sublime outpouring of love in the slow movement, makes it one of the greatest works ever written for piano and orchestra. We follow this with one of Beethoven’s most popular symphonies, a journey from darkness into light, that ends in a blaze of ‘life affirming’ C major sunshine and which, appropriately at this time, leaves us with the emphasis on the conquest, not the struggle.


Reserved: £40 | £35 | £25
Students: £1

This concert has already taken place and is shown for archive information only.