Tuesday 14th May 7.30pm - (finishes approx 9.15pm)
St James' Church

Lawrence Power  viola
Pavel Kolesnikov piano


Joachim, Schumann, Tchaikovsky

Selected works for Viola and Piano



Sonata in F minor Op.120 No.1



Selected works for solo Piano



Sonata in E flat major Op.120 No.2


Tonight sees the first appearance of this duo at the festival although both have played here before. Lawrence, widely acknowledged as one of the world’s finest violists, has appeared many times over the last 15 years and needs little introduction to festival regulars, and Pavel gave a memorable lunchtime recital for us a few years back. Pavel became Prize Laureate of the Honens International Piano Competition in 2012 and following
his Wigmore Hall debut in January 2014, the Telegraph gave his recital a rare fivestar review and called it “one of the most memorable of such occasions London has witnessed in a while.” Tonight’s programme includes the two glorious Brahms sonatas that were originally written for clarinet. These late works, written in 1894, were transcribed by Brahms himself for viola and work superbly well in this format.


“Power is something more: a profound musical personality, his every phrase new and noteworthy” Sunday Times

“The future is bright with phenomenal artists like Kolesnikov around” The Arts desk

Website for Lawrence Power http://www.lawrencepowerviola.com

Website for Pavel Kolesnikov https://www.pavelkolesnikov.com



Reserved £35 & £30, Unreserved £24, Students £1

Currently, the only way to make a booking is by postal application. Online booking will be available from early February 2019 after all postal applications have been processed. Click on the link below to download a postal booking form.
postal booking form