Chipping Campden Festival Academy Orchestra with Thomas Hull - conductor Paul Lewis - piano
Paul Lewis - piano


Chipping Campden Festival Academy Orchestra

Thomas Hull – conductor Paul Lewis – piano


Richard Strauss

Wind Serenade in E flat op.7



Piano concerto in B flat major K595



Symphony no.5 in E flat major Op.82

Written when Strauss was just 17, the one movement wind serenade is a structurally straightforward but beautifully melodic piece. By contrast Mozart’s final piano concerto shows how sometimes the greatest profundity can be achieved through an apparent simplicity. The concert ends with Sibelius’ fifth symphony. Composed when he was almost fifty, it is one of the truly great late-Romantic symphonies.

“Another depth of misery. But I can already make out the mountain that I shall ascend (…) God is opening his doors for a moment, and his orchestra is playing the fifth symphony.” Sibelius diary entry autumn 1914

“Mozart’s music is so pure and beautiful that I see it as a reflection of the inner beauty of the  universe” Albert Einstein

For more information on Paul Lewis see:


Reserved £40 & £35 Unreserved £23
Students £1

Currently, the only way to make a booking is by postal application. Online booking will be available from early February 2019 after all postal applications have been processed. Click on the link below to download a postal booking form.
postal booking form