Takacs String Quartet
Takacs String Quartet

Friday 19 May 7.30pm – ends approx 9.30pm

Takacs String Quartet

This concert is sponsored by the
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa




String quartet in D major Op 18 No 3
String quartet in E minor Op 59 No 2
String quartet in E flat Major Op 127

The multi award winning Takács Quartet is now entering its forty-second season, and fully deserves the accolade that many people ascribe to it, of being the world’s finest quartet. Renowned for the vitality of its interpretations, the New York Times recently lauded the ensemble for  revealing the familiar as unfamiliar, making the most traditional of works feel radical once more.” In May 2012, Gramophone Magazine announced that the Takács Quartet was the only string quartet to be inducted into its first Hall of Fame, along with such legendary artists as Jascha Heifetz, Leonard Bernstein and Dame Janet Baker. For their fourth appearance at the festival the quartet present a programme that gives us early, middle and late period Beethoven, culminating with the sublime Op 127, the only one of the late quartets that has never to date been played at the festival.

“This is chamber music playing of overwhelming intensity…….. simply the best I have ever heard in concert”
The Guardian

“The Takacs quartet stands at the peak of its powers – at the peak of its profession”
The Boston Globe


Reserved £35 & £30 Unreserved £22 Students £1

For more information you can visit Takacs Quartet’s website on: http://takacsquartet.com