Friday 17th May 7.30pm (finishes approx 9.00pm)
St James' Church

Henning Kraggerud violin

Adrian Brendel cello

Imogen Cooper piano




Piano Trio in E flat major Op.1 No.1



Piano Trio in B flat major Op.97  ‘Archduke’


Tonight we welcome back three quite outstanding musicians who were last with us as a trio in 2015, when they performed the two Schubert trios in a memorable concert broadcast live on BBC Radio 3. The E flat trio, published in 1795, was the first work Beethoven gave an opus number to and he was determined to create a stir when it was given its first performance in Vienna. Listening to this beautiful work it’s not hard to see why it did just that. The ‘Archduke’ trio had its first performance in April 1814 and is rightly acknowledged as arguably the greatest piano trio ever written.

“Henning Kraggerud…must be counted among the world’s most interesting and accomplished stars” Cincinnati Enquirer

“Adrian Brendel is everything but a showman: his tone is clear and precise, leaning towards classical refinement, always exposing an acute understanding of the composer’s intentions” Berliner Tagesspiegel

“She is an outstanding artist, one of the finest pianists now playing. Go, listen, and wonder how many better pianists there are alive in this country, or anywhere.” Daily Telegraph

Website for Henning Kraggerud

Website for Adrian Brendel

Website for Imogen Cooper



Reserved £35 & £30, Unreserved £24, Students £1

Currently, the only way to make a booking is by postal application. Online booking will be available from early February 2019 after all postal applications have been processed. Click on the link below to download a postal booking form.
postal booking form